Pastors and Staff

Pastoral Staff

Pastor-Dave

Rev. David Schulte (Senior Pastor)

“Pastor Dave” was born in McGregor, Texas near Waco, but spent most of his “growing up” years on the east side of San Antonio. He is the son of a Lutheran pastor, the Rev. Henry Schulte of Boerne, Texas.

He is a 1979 graduate of Texas Lutheran University in Seguin. He graduated from Trinity Lutheran Seminary in Columbus, Ohio in 1983 with a Master of Divinity degree. He completed his Doctor of Ministry degree from Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary in 1994.

Pastor Schulte served Peace Lutheran in Rosenberg, Texas from 1983-87. He started Peace Lutheran in New Braunfels, Texas and served there from 1987-97. He then served as Director of Church Relations for Texas Lutheran University from 1997 until accepting the call to become senior pastor at Zion on August 2, 2001.

Pastor Schulte loves to spend time with his daughter Anna and his wife, Debbie Christian. He likes to play golf, admits his favorite movies are romantic comedies and science fiction, loves music and singing, and is involved in Zion’s Theatre ministry whenever schedule allows. Contact Pastor David Schulte at dschulte@zionsa.org

Rev. Dan Heim (Associate Pastor for Faith Formation)

Pastor Dan joined Zion in August 2018 and coordinates youth and family ministries, focusing on family-based faith formation and inter-generational ministries. He is a 2005 graduate of Wheaton (Illinois) College and worked for five years in politics and journalism in Washington, D.C. After graduating from Duke Divinity School in 2014, he served his intern/vicar year at St. Andrew Lutheran Church in Vancouver, Wash.; completed his Lutheran studies at the Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago; and served his first call at Faith Lutheran Church in North Lakewood, Wash.

Pastor Dan grew up in the Chicago suburb of Oak Park, Ill., and lives in San Antonio with his wife Jennifer and daughter Miriam. In his free time he enjoys exploring San Antonio’s neighborhoods and greenways with his family, playing softball and soccer, watching/attending sporting events, reading history and nonfiction, and playing board and card games. Contact Pastor Dan at dheim@zionsa.org.

Pastor-Dale

Rev. Dale Brand (Visitation Pastor)

Pastor Brand is a native of South Dakota, but has lived and ministered in Texas for over thirty-seven years. He has served churches in the Rio Grande Valley and the Texas Hill Country, but most of his service as been at congregations in San Antonio, at Zion Lutheran on Cincinnati Avenue, Gethsemane Lutheran and House of Prayer Lutheran. He is a graduate of Luther Theological Seminary in St. Paul, Minnesota and his first call was as a missionary to Colombia, South America. He is also author of the devotional book New Life, a Year with Paul’s Letter to the Romans. Pastor Brand has been married to Phyllis for nearly 50 years and they have three children and two grandchildren, all in San Antonio. He feels privileged to be called as Zion’s Visitation Pastor.

Program Staff

College: Tia Mathre-Adams – tadams@zionsa.org

Music: Rob Mikulski rmikulski@zionsa.org

Theatre: Sammy Mikulski theatre@zionsa.org

Support Staff

Administrator: Suzie Wyatt – swyatt@zionsa.org

Publications: Julie Rode-Hickeyjrodehickey@zionsa.org

Administrative Assistant: Martha Perez – zion@zionsa.org

Housekeeping: Fernando Vallejo – zion@zionsa.org

Facilities: David Blankzion@zionsa.org