Pastors and Staff

Pastoral Staff

Pastor-Dave

Rev. David Schulte (Senior Pastor)

“Pastor Dave” was born in McGregor, Texas near Waco, but spent most of his “growing up” years on the east side of San Antonio. He is the son of a Lutheran pastor, the Rev. Henry Schulte of Boerne, Texas.

He is a 1979 graduate of Texas Lutheran University in Seguin. He graduated from Trinity Lutheran Seminary in Columbus, Ohio in 1983 with a Master of Divinity degree. He completed his Doctor of Ministry degree from Austin Presbyterian Theological Seminary in 1994.

Pastor Schulte served Peace Lutheran in Rosenberg, Texas from 1983-87. He started Peace Lutheran in New Braunfels, Texas and served there from 1987-97. He then served as Director of Church Relations for Texas Lutheran University from 1997 until accepting the call to become senior pastor at Zion on August 2, 2001.

Pastor Schulte loves to spend time with his daughter Anna and his wife, Debbie Christian. He likes to play golf whenever he can. He is passionate about God’s wondrous grace, and loves serving God as pastor of Zion Lutheran. Contact Pastor David Schulte at dschulte@zionsa.org

Pastor-Russell

Rev. Russell Peek (Associate Pastor)

Pastor Russell was born and raised in Columbia, SC.  He is a 2000 graduate of Winthrop University.  He is also a 2004 graduate of Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary and did additional studies towards a Master of Sacred Theology at Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary.

Pastor Russell has served as associate pastor of All Saints Lutheran, Mount Pleasant, SC and was most recently pastor of Emmanuel Lutheran, West Columbia, SC.  He became associate pastor of Zion Lutheran Church on August 12, 2012.

He is proud to be Caroline’s husband and Wesley’s father. In his spare time, he enjoys playing and listening to music, playing around with electronics, and competitive league bowling.  He believes that all of life is a gift from God.  Contact Pastor Russell at rpeek@zionsa.org

Pastor-Dale

Rev. Dale Brand (Visitation Pastor)

Pastor Brand is a native of South Dakota, but has lived and ministered in Texas for over thirty-seven years. He has served churches in the Rio Grande Valley and the Texas Hill Country, but most of his service as been at congregations in San Antonio, at Zion Lutheran on Cincinnati Avenue, Gethsemane Lutheran and House of Prayer Lutheran. He is a graduate of Luther Theological Seminary in St. Paul, Minnesota and his first call was as a missionary to Colombia, South America. He is also author of the devotional book New Life, a Year with Paul’s Letter to the Romans. Pastor Brand has been married to Phyllis for nearly 50 years and they have three children and two grandchildren, all in San Antonio. He feels privileged to be called as Zion’s Visitation Pastor.

Program Staff
College: Tia Mathre-Adams – tadams@zionsa.org

Education: Karen Stein kstein@zionsa.org

Music: Rob Mikulski rmikulski@zionsa.org

Theatre: Sammy Mikulski theatre@zionsa.org

Youth: Travis Baker tbaker@zionsa.org

Support Staff

Administrator: Suzie Wyatt – swyatt@zionsa.org

Publications: Julie Rode-Hickeyjrodehickey@zionsa.org

Administrative Assistant: Martha Perez – zion@zionsa.org

Housekeeping: Janice Favor – zion@zionsa.org

Facilities: David Blankzion@zionsa.org

Under Construction Comments: underconstruction@zionsa.org